General Book Search for "9781785765469"

Stasi Winter: The most gripping Cold War crime thriller you'll read in 2020

Paperback
Published : Thursday 9 January 2020
ISBN : 9781785765469
Price : €9.40


You may also like ...

Product

Stasi Winter: The most gripping Cold Wa...

Paperback
09 Jan 2020
LIT

€9.40

In Stock 1
Product

Journeys to the Other Side of the World...

Paperback
21 Feb 2019
NFC

€10.99

Extended stock – Dispatch 5-7 days
Product

Stasi 77: The breathless Cold War thril...

Paperback
18 Apr 2019
HIS

€9.50

Extended stock – Dispatch 5-7 days
Product

A Darker State: The gripping Cold War t...

Paperback
08 Feb 2018
MSO

€9.40

Extended stock – Dispatch 5-7 days

Description

In the depths of the Republic's catastrophic winter, Major Karin Muller is called upon to stop a group of 'escapers' from crossing the frozen Ostee.

IN EAST GERMANY, SOLVING A MURDER CAN GET YOU KILLED . . . A gripping and intelligent thriller set in East Germany, during the worst winter in one-hundred years. Perfect for fans of Tom Rob Smith, Phillip Kerr and Joseph Kanon. ____________________________________ In 1978 East Germany, nothing is as it seems. The state's power is absolute, history is re-written, and the 'truth' is whatever the Stasi say it is. So when a woman's murder is officially labelled 'accidental death', Major Karin Muller of the People's Police is faced with a dilemma. To solve the crime, she must disregard the official version of events. But defying the Stasi means putting her own life - and the lives of her young family - in danger. As the worst winter in living memory holds Germany in its freeze, Muller must untangle a web of state secrets and make a choice: between truth and lies, justice and injustice, and, ultimately, life and death. Stunningly authentic and brimming with moral ambiguity, Stasi Winter is the thrilling new novel from the award-winning author of Stasi Child. ____________________________________ Praise for David Young: 'Excellent' The Times 'Thrilling' William Ryan 'Masterful' Daily Express 'Fast-paced' The Sun 'Superb. Reminded me of Robert Harris at his best' Mason Cross 'Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field' Abir Mukherjee



Reviews